Adventures of a Scholar: Justin

Related to this week’s post about travel opportunities for collegians, class of 2015 collegian Justin just returned from a spring break trip to Spain which was a component of his class on Spanish art and architecture. Justin, who is studying Electrical Technology at Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology, sent us a summary of his travels:

“To tell you a little bit about my adventures in Spain, I traveled to Madrid, Toledo, Córdoba, Seville, Granada, Valencia and Barcelona. In the picture, I am standing in the Plaza de España in Seville, near a cathedral where we were visiting Christopher Columbus’ burial site.

Traveling in España was the most educational and adventurous experience I’ve ever had in my entire life. The mountains are large, the sky and water are blue, the weather is warm and the sun was bright. The architecture of the cathedrals, the mosques, and the royal palaces were breathtakingly gorgeous.

The focus of the course I took was Spanish art and architecture as it relates to the social, political, religious, economic and technological history of Spain. I am currently writing a final research report for the course about the famous El-Greco of Toledo, an artist and architect.

There was much in Spain that I wish everyone could see! I want to thank Joan Mazzotti and Philadelphia Futures for helping me achieve my dream of traveling the world. Not only was it my first time leaving the country, but it was to a country that my ancestors had come from, and I now have a better understanding of who I am.

This will forever be an unforgettable experience. I’ll be looking to travel back there again, in the near future!”

Justin-Santiago-Spain

Justin in the Plaza de España

If you are a Philadelphia Futures Collegian who would like to share one of your most interesting college experiences, please contact kellycrodian@philadelphiafutures.org.

Leave a Reply

